DSCN1761__

The world outside is black and white. Across the Muskegon the treetops are hazy. Bare branches are so beautiful this winter. I forgot how much water is here in Michigan. So many wide, lazy rivers – very different from those in the west, which run rapidly, filled with energy and anxiety from the drastic geology of the landscape there. For the first time in a while, on the drive up here, highway signs brought about sentimental feelings. I glanced up to see a sign for “Mackinac Bridge” and it made me feel such joy for my life situation – I have ties to such a beautiful and unique place, I am back here visiting, there is good music on the radio, and warmth in my heart from the good folks I have exchanged with this past month. I have so much ahead of me and so many amazing places I have already been.

DSCN1761_

Leave a Reply

