I left Claude and Connie’s some days ago, reluctantly, with an uneasy stomach. I visited Katie at PRBO (Point Reyes Bird Obs) for her birthday and went in the field with them, and ate chicken pot pie and drank gin and champagne. Good stuff. Then met with Kurt in Los Gatos for bird adventures, including about 7 lifers. Met with Zack & co. in Santa Cruz for a night of wine and stringed instruments by the light of the Trader Joe’s parking lot. Next I met with Darren in Big Sur and we saw condors which made a red-tailed hawk look like a sparrow. Very foggy on Highway 1. I’m at a pull-off for the night on what is probably a beautiful road overlooking the ocean… I’ll see it in the morning. I just looked up with my headlamp and the light caught a pair of eyes about 20 meters away. Fox? I’m not sure where I’m heading next, the Salton Sea I suppose. Still no word from the cattle ranch.

DSCN2497

Leave a Reply

